Concert 3

20 November 2022

The Silver Keys

The Silver Keys is an international clarinet quartet based in Central Scotland. The founding members are Laura Hundert, Jaimee Forsyth, Osian Penry Dance, and Pawel Jaworski.

The members of the quartet met in 2018 when they were all students at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland under the tutelage of John Cushing, former principal clarinetist of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra. As each of the members are from different backgrounds: Scottish, American, Welsh, and Polish, their passion is delving into the different traditions of music from all over the world.

As a clarinet quartet, they always like to experiment with different genres of music to illuminate how diverse clarinet is as an instrument. They have chosen this programme as an example of how clarinet can perform music from all different time periods as well as all different styles of music. Ranging from arrangements of standard classical operas like Aragonaise from Carmen or the Flower Duet from Lakme, to 20th century pieces written for clarinet quartet like Uhl’s Divertimento, all the way to wonderful arrangements of popular music like Scottish Folk Tunes or even the Beatles and John Williams.

In addition to the quartet pieces, they will be playing two contrasting clarinet trios – Sonate a Trois and Ventus. These two demonstrate the extreme variety that just three clarinets can produce. Sonate a Trois was written in the 18th century, while Ventus was written in the 21st century. The Silver Keys love expanding their repertoire to be as accessible as possible for any audience member. Whether you’re a fan of classical, contemporary, or pop music, there will be something for you!

Tonight's programme

Georges Bizet arr. Marco A. Mazzine: Aragonaise from the suite Carmen
Alfred Uhl: Divertimento
Charles Avison: Sonate a Trois
L. Delibes arr. K. Koda: Flower Duet from Lakme
Moritz Moszkowski: Krakoviak Op. 55 No. 4
John Williams arr. G. Muolo: Cantina Band

Bela Bartok arr. Marco Mazzini: Romanian Folk Dances
Rika Ishige: Ventus for Clarinet Trio
Gustav Holst arr. Ken Abeling: Second Suite for Military Band in F
Ion Scarlatescu arr. Ioan Dobrinescu: Bagatella
The Beatles arr. Genessa West: When I’m 64
Scottish Trad. arr. K. Agioritis: Loch Lomond 

Buy tickets

This concert is promoted by Dunfermline Arts Guild in partnership with Scotland on Tour (, a fund set up by the Scottish Government that helps to create new concerts and bring world-class music to towns and villages across Scotland.